Our Board

Our Board of Directors ​is responsible for CCI’s overall performance, providing strategic direction, effective governance and leadership. The strength of the Board lies in their collective experience across a range of industries as well as the Catholic community. It’s their combined expertise that helps us maintain our role as a diversified general insurance and financial services provider with an unparalleled knowledge of Catholic organisations.

Joan Fitzpatrick


Joan joined the board in 2016 and has more than 40 years of commercial business experience. An experienced change management leader, Joan has delivered successful business results including strong engagement of people. Qualified as a barrister, she began her career in London where she became Regional General Manager for a global insurer of manufacturing and special risks. Joan spent 16 years as CEO and Director of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance where she revitalised the business. She is a Fellow of ANZIIF, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is currently a non-executive director for several organisations.

Reverend Dr Phillip Marshall
Reverend Dr Phillip Marshall


Rev Dr Philip Marshall is Administrator of the Murray Bridge, Murray Mallee and Mallee Border Parishes within the Archdiocese of Adelaide, SA. He studied at Adelaide University and then worked in the area of community welfare before joining the St Francis Xavier Seminary at Rostrevor. Following his ordination, Fr Marshall served in several parishes, including Hectorville. He has played a significant role in establishing the Hectorville Catholic Community, which places a strong focus on the involvement of the whole community in the life of the Church and neighbourhood. He is a Doctor of Philosophy and his locus of study in Canada was well-known Dominican theologian Father Jean-Marie Tillard.

Matthew Doquile


Matthew joined the Board during 2018, and is a long-standing and accomplished insurance professional with more than 20 years of industry experience in Australia and Asia Pacific. Matthew has held senior executive roles at Chubb Insurance Group in Asia and Australia, including that of Chief Operating Officer and CEO of Chubb in Australia, and currently holds an Executive role as Director, Partnerships at Auto & General Insurance. Earlier in his career Matthew also held various roles at one of Australia’s important trading banks where he developed expertise in corporate and business banking. Matthew’s areas of expertise include General Insurance and Reinsurance, Distribution, Financial Services and Risk. He holds a Bachelor of Economics Degree along with an Executive MBA from the Australian Graduate School of Management, and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sr Mary Ellen O’Donoghue


Member of Audit Committee, Nominations, Remunerations & Culture Committee and Risk Committee. Sr Mary Ellen joined the Board in February 2021. As a Sister of St Joseph of the Sacred Heart for over 40 years, she has held significant leadership roles in education and other ministries, including secondary Principal and Chief Executive Officer of Good Grief Ltd. Sr Mary Ellen’s board experience includes appointment as Chair of St Anthony’s Family Care. Formally Regional Leader of the Sisters of Saint Joseph (NSW), she is currently a member of the Congregational Leadership Team.

Gregory Cooper


Gregory joined the Board in June 2020. He retired as Chief Executive Officer of Schroder Investment Management Australia in December 2019. His professional career spans actuarial consulting and funds management across Asia Pacific and the UK. He has worked in various roles across Hong Kong, Singapore, London and Sydney. Gregory is a Director of Perpetual Limited, Colonial First State Investments Limited and Avanteos Investments Limited (collectively known as Colonial First State), a group subsidiary of Commonwealth Bank of Australia,  Australian Payments Plus LTD and its subsidiaries, NSW Treasury Corporation, the Australian Indigenous Education Foundation, Kincoppal Rose Bay School of the Sacred Heart and OpenInvest Holdings Limited. He is also a member of St Ignatius College Investment Committee. Gregory was previously Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Director of the Financial Services Council, the industry body representing funds management, retail superannuation and the life insurance industries for 10 years.

Noel Condon


Noel joined the CCI Board in October 2020. His extensive sector expertise includes insurance and reinsurance markets across Europe and Asia Pacific where he identified business opportunities and led projects that required specialist risk management oversight. His most recent role was as CEO of AIG in Australia. Noel continues to build strong networks and relationships in financial services and has served on other boards throughout his career. In addition to his role on the Board for CCI, he is an Independent Non-Executive Director for Unimutual.

Eamonn Cunningham


Eamonn Cunningham joined the Board in June 2021. As a risk management professional, he has held Chief Risk Officer roles with Westfield Group and Scentre Group. In 2017, he was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by StrategicRisk, in 2014 he was inducted into the Business Insurance Risk Manager of the Year Honour Roll, while in 2010 he was awarded Risk Manager of the Year by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIF). He has substantial involvement in Board Committees and been a longstanding Director and current Chair of the Risk and Insurance Management Society Australasia. He was a member of the M200 Association and Chair of the Risk Management Committee of the Property Council of Australia Eamonn has extensive experience in establishing and leading local and global Risk Management and Insurance teams and gained significant experience in a multinational company. He currently runs his own consulting business with a specific emphasis on Enterprise Risk Management and Strategic Risk Management.

David Issa


David joined the Board in October 2022 and is an experienced leader in technology and digital transformation. David’s professional experience includes 10 years at Westpac, culminating in the role of Chief Information Officer, Institutional Banking, followed by roles at Insurance Australia Group including as Chief Executive Officer, Personal Insurance. David currently sits on the Boards of IFS Insurance Solutions and Industry Fund Services and was previously a Non-Executive Director of ME Bank prior to its acquisition by Bank of Queensland in 2021. David also holds a Bachelor of Science majoring in Mathematics from Macquarie University.